Manage Pages

This background is for all page editors.Manage Content Thumbnail

On the right you see a reduced image of the Manage Pages screen for sites which allow multiple versions, Click here to see a larger image.  Click here to see a sample image for a site without versions.  Since there can be many Content Areas for each page we have just shown the top one and the end of the bottom one.  This page will briefly describe each of the areas on the page.  Please see the following pages for the details about each area.

Selecting a Page: the right side

On the right side of the screen is the page selection area.  Existing pages can be selected either by searching for them by their Page ID number or by the page title.  Note: on systems where authors are allowed to see only their sections, the search will return only pages they can edit.  Below this are all the sections visible to the page author.  Clicking on theButton to expand section page listbutton will expand the sections pages.  Similarly Clicking on the Button to colaspe  section page listbutton will compress the page list for a section.  Each line, in either list, will begin Select Page Button followed by the Page Title.  Clicking on the Select Page Buttonbutton or Page Title will open an editable version that page on the left side of this form.  At the right end is the Page display Button button.  Click on Page display Button to see the current published version of the page.  On the next row are three small numbers.  The left most is the computer assigned Page ID number or PID of the page.  Use this PID number whenever you have to reference to the page. 

Icons Showing phases of edit Sites with Versions: The three Icons at the left demonstrate the three different states of pages.  The top icon will be displayed if there is only an active version of the page.  The middle icon (with the yellow ball) indicates that a page is being actively edited (i.e, it is locked).  The bottom image indicates that the page has a pending version awaiting approval.  Assuming you have permission, you can either lock it and begin editing it or go using the Publish function, make that version active. If there is a page in Edit mode, that is the page which will open at the left otherwise the Active page will open; however, the page which will be displayed by clicking on the Page display Buttonbutton will display the Active page (if any).  To view the version being edited click on the 'View Version' link after selecting the by clicking on either the title or icon.

Alert for sites with versions: If you change the Section a page is in as part of an update the edit mode page will be in the new section while the active page will be in the old section.  The Search and Browse will display it in its active location, but clicking on the Select Page Buttonbutton will switch the to the correct section for the Edit version. Once published, it will appear in its new section in the drop down.  If you use the Revert function and select a version of the page in the old section to be active the page will  appear in the old section.

Creating and Editing a Page: the left side

The left side of the page below the grey bar, consists of two sets of buttons (one set at the top and one at the bottom) which control what you want to do and three sections where the page author will enter or change information.  If a button is greyed out then that function is currently unavailable.  Please see here for a description of all of the tags which you can put into any of the content sections.

  • The bottom row of buttons control page disposition: Save/Update, Add as a new page, Delete Confirmation and, for sites with versions, Abandon a Partially Completed Edit.
    • Clicking on the Save/Update button save the current version of the page.  On sites with versions this changes the the hidden Edit version, on all other sites the changes are immediately visible. 
    • Clicking on the Add this page button will create a new page with a new Display Order.
    • Certain pages may not be deleted (e.g., pages in sections which begin with '~' or whose sequence number is 1-1 Unless you are the site designer don't delete these, they are used in site navigation and or common elements.
    • In sites with versions you can abandon and edit (i.e, get rid of the version of the page you are working on so you can start from current visible page by clicking on the Cancel Page Button.  This will not effect the visible page, but drop any revisions you are currently making.   If there is a previous version, administrators will also see a link to Restore Previous Version which will allow you to select any previously published version of the page.
  • The top row of buttons effect mainly sites with versions.
    • To delete a page (and all version of it) you can click on the Delete this Page button, if you checked the Confirm Delete check box on the top row of buttons.  They are separated because so you don't hit it by accident.  There is no undo for a page delete.   However, you can sometimes recover page content by using the browser's back button and re-adding the page.
    • Sites with versions have a concept of page Locking.  This is to ensure that only one person is working on a page at a time. 
      • To Start editing or lock an edit version no one else is working on click on the Lock Ownership button.
      • If you are an administrator and you want to take over the editing (even if only to close out the edit and publish the page revision) click on the Assume Page Ownership button.
      • Once you are finished with a revision click on the Release Page Ownership button. When you do this other authors can lock the page.  It will also appear on the list of pages to be published.  Normally you would unlock a page only when it is ready to be published.
  • Below the top row of button are several links: History (who, what and when changed), and on sites with versions: View Version (displays the current version you are editing) and Restore Previous Version (administrators only, if there are previously published versions it displays a list with the ability to make one of them the visible version.
  • Below that is a box for the Page Title, a drop down to select the active media directory and a link, Show Special to a popup page which lists those 'Active' page which are hidden (e.g., Forms, Sharable content) that page authors may wish to include using the |.pContent:#.| tag or pages with a Display Priority of 1-1 which may be the top of sections.
    • The Media Directory drop down will list all the media library directories which the current page author can include in their pages.  Changing the media directory will cause the available Images, Documents and Multi-media drop downs in the Image, Link and Embedded Media lists to change. 
    • Show Special will list pages which are likely to be included or referenced by other pages.  That is pages which begin a section (i..e, have order of 1-1), or are hidden.
  • Next there will be one or more content areas (see here for details).  Each section begins with a short text Note, followed by two radio buttons to select the mode of this content area (Standard or HTML {Hypertext Markup Language, i.e, the actual language web browsers understand).  Normally page authors will leave it in the standard mode.  Special sections, e.g., web Forms, must be prepared in the HTML mode so that the system does not convert what you enter into a web safe form.
    See here for more details.
  • After the last content area is a section devoted to controlling how the page will be presented. Things like what Template will be used, in what section it will reside and in what order will it be displayed.  If the site is set up to support URL re-writing then that URL will be displayed here.  If the page is hidden or in a section whose name begins with '~' then the system will not generate a re-write URL since the page will not appear in a site map.  See the section on URL re-writing here for more details. This is also where you can enter the Page title as it will appear at the top of the page as well as hints for search engines.
Much of this is covered in more detail later in this help.